Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
The Diary Of A Pensionless Pensioner

The Descent Into Hell of just one of the millions of 1950s Women who've been denied their STATE PENSIONS for 6YRS, contract broken, each ROBBED of £50,000+ and not even INFORMED by UK government under David Cameron and George Osborne& now, Theresa May and Philip Hammond: The Devil's Own Christians!

Of Contacts, Cataracts and Cruelty

For full story, go to 'home' page, scroll right down and start with 'Heartbreak' (now on Page 2)

Yesterday, I went to get my eyes tested, a normal procedure, in normal times, for most. But for we 1950s women, our State Pensions stolen for 6 years, these are anything *but* 'normal times', as many of us are forced to live on £10.33 a day for ALL in life.

"But, Lizzie, eye tests for the Over 60s are still free!" , I hear you say.

Correct, but, obviously, glasses still have to be paid for...UNLESS...you have an HC2 form from the NHS, having been Relegated To Pauperism by The Brutal Regime we currently call government,,,and thus find yourself on ESA/JSA.

"But, Lizzie, this means you can get two pairs of glasses for free, reading and distance! So WHAT is your problem?!", you continue.....

Ah, well, MY problem is MY vision, you see, for I am the (now, elderly) child of two VERY long-sighted parents, and whilst my brother was kissed by 'The 20/20 Vision Faery' upon his birth, I had the misfortune to be kissed by 'The Blind As A Bat Faery'...and thus, the Battle Of My Eyes began.

I was lucky though, for my Darlin' Dad was not only an optician, thus, he kept a Close Eye on my eyes, but he also raised me to have a Rollickingly Good Sense Of Humour about my eyes, which normally arrive in a room at least 10 minutes before me, if I'm wearing glasses, that is...so huge do they appear. :0)

I was also Blessed To Be Born in The Age Of Contact Lenses, and thus, 2 Little Pieces Of Plastic changed my life, brought the world to me, in Clarity & Beauty....and thus, forever banished the thick lenses too heavy to sit upon my poor nose for very long....

I went on to have problems with my eyes, of a different sort, for Toxicara came visiting in my late teens, causing Choroiditis and thus stealing part of the vision in my right eye, but our brains are wonderful machines and thus, mine compensated me for this blind patch pretty fast, and besides, I still have my left eye, far from perfect without my contact lenses, true, but all parts non-blind, at least....

Everything went well, until I hit 60....and my pension somehow found itself inside George Osborne's Trousers, where he, I assume, took to pleasuring himself with it, on a daily basis, orgasmic smiles filling his office at the thought of all the women whose lives he's knowingly and willingly imploded, leaving so many of us in destitution.......

You see, from that moment on, I was pretty stuck...and when I ceased to be a Carer for Nanny, my ex-mum-in-law, earlier this year, I was well and truly shafted in The Field Of Vision Field...

The last pair of *glasses* I had are from 21 years ago, from when I was 40. Even back then, they cost over £300, due to the lenses being 'thin', you see, thus Dolland & Aitchison (now part of Boots Opticians) had to send to Japan for the lenses, to Nikon. I kid thee not. (!!!)

As I barely ever use glasses, these have never been updated, but, in the rare moments of not being able to wear my contact lenses, I valiantly struggle on with them, holding them up off my nose as much as I can, for even the 'thin' lenses are thick and heavy'...and humorous to behold.

Now, if you've not yet died of boredom, or confusion, let me explain about the HC2 form.

This gives FULL payment for glasses (from the cheapest range, obviously) but it does NOT include 'thin' lenses.

Ah........

They also include PART payment only for contact lenses....

Double Ah......

An eye test if over 60, as stated above, is free, but a CONTACT LENS test is £35. (!!) which may as well be £3,500 for many of we 1950s women on ESA/JSA.

The reason contact lenses are NOT free, as glasses are under the NHS, is they regard them as being 'cosmetic', thus, I assume, 'vanity'...

Obviously, whomsoever thought this piece of shite up has never come across people who have The Eyes Of Mole Syndrome, is all I can imagine, or, they are SO CRUEL, that they don't give a feck either way.....

Thus, my glasses check up went like this.....

Firstly, I was given the Startling News that I have Bilateral Cataracts starting up, oh, joy, (yes, Diabetes, the gift that just keeps on giving, alongside Age, of course) and this is why computer screen seem so bright lately and I'm Starting To Struggle...

Oh, WhoopeeDownDooooo!

Anyways ups, I managed not to burst into tears, instead, cracked jokes to the optician and then went outside to choose my New SuperDuper Free Glasses....

Except, there were only TWO pairs that would suit my New SuperDuper Free SuperThick Lenses, of course, as the bloody things will now be SO heavy that they'll fall off/down my bloody nose and...it gets better...and, the lenses themselves will stick OUTSIDE, as in, 'beyond' the spectacle frame, so they will have a 'bulbous' appearance....

Oh, double joy!

She had to tell me this, so that legally, I assume, they are protected.

I managed not to cry, again...and, once more, cracked jokes.......

I say there were TWO pairs that were suitable, but what I mean is only ONE was, for distance, and an even smaller one, for reading, as my reading prescription is 2 dioptres stronger, so only the tiniest lenses can fit in....

No matter HOW beautiful the frame, the moment (even THIN) lenses of my prescription go in, The Ugliness takes over and my eyes become MASSIVE, startling folks and causing children and old ladies to run for the hills......

Truly........

Now, they CAN do thin lenses, but...yes...wait for it...they'd cost an extra £70 a pair to make...so, they're OUT then....as NO STATE PENSION means NO MONEY, of course....

I cheered a little when I asked her about 'tints' for the lenses...

"Oh yes, we can do those to help with the glare you're getting....." she said....

I dared to smile.....

BIG MISTAKE!

"But, I'm afraid we charge an extra £50 for those. That's each pair"

NON-orgasmic smiley!

So, now I have the SuperDuperSuperStupidSuperTHICKLenses, too heavy to sit upon my nose, which, after falling over last year on the pavement and breaking it, is even more sensitive to vast weight upon it...and, the Glaring Lenses too, which won't help me at all, even less so as the GlareGetsWorse as TheCataractsGetWorse....

Oh, Triple JOY!

This will cost the NHS probably in the region of £200, for me NOT to be able to see properly....

I was told that my vision has got better......(WHAT?!!)...because the cataracts tend to make long-sighted people become a bit-short-sighted, but by this time, I was feeling so down that I couldn't somehow find the silver lining in that one, despite trying my hardest.....

So, there we have it, TWO pairs of FREE glasses I'll barely EVER be able to use and NO CONTACT LENSES which I'd use 24/7 were I able to afford them! But because I can't FECKING WELL AFFORD THEM due to the NHS deciding that these VISUAL LIFELINES are nothing more than fecking COSMETIC, I'm stuck with TWO pairs of FREE glasses which will be of barely any use whatsoever!

And I can do NOTHING about this because this FECKING REGIME Of FECKERS has STOLEN my FECKING PENSION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Meanwhile, Osborne takes his children to Vietnam, probably with my pension still inside his trousers (!) to 'play' at firing machine guns on a day out, no doubt Having A Fun Day Out With Pol Pot and imagining he's swatting the 1950s women, we WASPIS, with every shot!

WHY would you take your children to 'have fun' firing machine guns? WHY would you not want them to show DEEP respect to all the poor souls who lost their lives in that brutal, brutal time?

Do you get The Connection of DIS-CONNECTEDNESS here?

Do you see WHY so many of us are now in Poverty, Penury and at Suicidal Level? Why so many have ALREADY taken their own lives?

You know, my outer vision might be SHIT, but when you can't see with your EYES, you grow up seeing with your MIND instead, you use your other senses perhaps more than some might do, for what your eyes miss, your hearing, taste, smell and heart feel twice as much...and thus this Bonkers-Eyed Woman is able to see The BULLSHIT so very easily, even with her eyes closed, for I can FEEL their Lack of Compassion & Concern, can SMELL their Utter Indifference, and TASTE the POISON they have spread across my once Beloved Country!

One day, years down the line, when I finally get to have these cataracts removed, replaced with prescription lenses inside my eyes, which will, for the first time in my LIFE, give me almost 20/20 vision 24/7, NO CONTACT LENSES needed at all, being nothing short of a MIRACLE for me, I will finally be free of this Stifling Chain which my vision has put upon my life....

There'll be no more moments of "Where did the world go?", no more having to put lenses into my eyes each day, or trying to find them in there when they go astray, no more 'extreme pain' on Windy Days as dust flies in, no more goddam weight upon my nose, just ordinary strength reading glasses, like everyone else.....

The Cruelty is, that IF I had been informed FAR EARLIER about my pension age*, I'd have had some of my savings left, and I'd have been able to have had this done privately, for this operation is very routine now and costs around £2,000 for each eye. They do it FAR EARLIER in the private sector too, but under our poor, struggling NHS, nothing happens until the cataracts are, what is termed, 'ripe', which means years of failing vision ahead, adding to the depression already caused by our state pensions being denied us in the most Cruel,Callous and Criminal Way you could ever imagine.

* Please note, I do not, for a moment, consider we should EVER have been involved in this outrage and our pension age of 60 should have been honoured from the start. No ordinary person could ever cope with a 5 year increase in their pension age, let alone 6 or 7, as we've had thrust upon us. Pension ages should be going DOWN, for all, not up!

I'm NOT looking forward to being way further down the road of Heading Towards Blindness 24/7 before being able to be helped. I've been pretty much that way all my life when I remove my contact lenses/glasses...all detail disappearing instantly....leaving only colours abounding around me, not being able to see faces even, just all detail...gone....

Sadly, with cataracts, even The Colours are taken from you, becoming washed out, faded, a yellowish brown....and whilst The Colours do come back, post-op, I shall so, SO miss them whilst they're gone for I ADORE Colours! At present, I can still see Colours Clearly, so I'm savouring each moment of them, trying to lock them inside my Mind's Eye, where I can see them in their full glory, always.

A POX upon ALL those who have played their part in this shocking crime of The Great State Pension Robbery, for CRIME it is...

And to now have a Woman PM, one who is 59 years old, so who will know first hand that NONE of us were EVER informed about The Carnage lying in wait for us, a woman who is REFUSING to sort this out, REFUSING to own up to it and give us our STOLEN PENSIONS BACK, KNOWING we are drowning, yet continuing to hold us under, as those before her did, well, that HURTS beyond belief....and she should be damned ashamed of herself, but...she won't be...of course.

Remember, The Vision Within often matters more than The Vision Without, for without that Inner Vision, nothing else will ever be seen clearly for what it is...and what I see here, even with my eyes closed, is A Robbery of Mammoth Proportions by Psychopaths and Sociopaths from The People who can least afford it.

Did Hitler win?

Well, his mind-pattern did, for sure, for these Callously Cruel Humans now ruling over us care for us as little as he cared for his people.

Perhaps they Dream of Death Camps for we 1950s women, 60s too, for the Sick, Disabled, Poor, Dying and Unemployed....where we could all be 'removed' from the face of the planet allowing them to get on with their rich lives, their subsidized food and drink and their Elite Parties for The Elite...

Who knows, eh?

Treasure your sight, breathe in THE AMAZING BEAUTY of all you see around you, every second of every day, but also be sure that your Inner Vision sees The Putrid Dimentors doing their best to close in on all of us.

Fight them, with all you have...with your last breath, with your last drop of vision....

Raise Excalibur once more and take our Kingdom, our still UNITED Kingdom BACK into Caring, Supportive Hands once again.

Have 20/20 Vision as to what is being done to so many of us.

Much love and frothing emotions

Lizzie xx

UPDATE:  Well, after ALL this, Boots Opticians came back saying they could not make my reading glasses up, as they'd probably break the frame, (!!!) so could I choose the tiniest frame possible.  THEN, I discover that Boots had given me the wrong information on how much I was able to claim via NHS, through being on ESA.  It was more than they'd said.  THEN (again) I was eventually put into WRAG, meaning more money and backdated amount being sent to me, which meant I could FINALLY afford to get....yes...wait for it....my CONTACT LENSES at long last...

So, I kissed Boots goodbye, went to Specsavers (all together now "Should have GONE to Specsavers!) and am now writing this with my new SuperyDuperyUpToDatePrescription Contact Lenses. 

RESULT!  :0)

Of course, if I had my STATE PENSION, as I SHOULD have had, from 2015, NONE of the above would have happened, my stress levels wouldn't be off the planet and you'd not have had to trawl  your way through Several Tonnes of Angst & Anger.

I'm now in The Support Group, which, until a few weeks back meant they'd leave me alone for 18 months, (see new blog on this by going to 'Home' page.  BUT, at the end of this, I'll be assessed all over again, at the age of 63 by then.  HOWEVER, now, Damian Green's thinking about all who are in The Support Group being treated the same as those in WRAG, which means he wants us to be harrassed by endless appointments with Work Coaches too, despite us being IN the Support Group because they know those in there CANNOT cope with all this and are NOT well enough to work, full stop.

GEEZUS!!!

I'm ALMOST SPEECHLESS to be honest...and yes, I can here a VERY loud Sigh of Relief going up into The Ether over that....

Onward and Upward though, for now, WASPI are taking The Bastards & Bitches to Court over our pensions....so, we shall see what happens.  The fact we're even having to do this is wholly wrong, for govt should have issued the BIGGEST APOLOGY EVER for what they've done to us, then given  us our pensions from 60, honouring the pension age we'd lived with for most of our lives....

PFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFT!

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
C
Lizzie all all your posts on here strike a nerve , being a 50’s women my self . The glasses I’ve had the eye rests but as yet not been and picked any glasses the cost even with a voucher when needing bi focals and I have jam jar bottoms lenses that will pop a lense out because of thickness ! I have limited vision in one eye due to a lazy eye as child of which as very little vision .also now diabetic oh the joys of age lol . I cannot wear specs that have any metal bits that touch my skin or goes weeping icky so this limites choice , spec savers only had buy on get a pair if buy more exspensive frames only certain frames fit my thick lenses
Reply
S
I'm going through a hideous cataract story at the moment so empathise more than you know.
Reply